ACRE Research

Opportunity Zone Research

Opportunity Zones are an economic development program created by Congress in the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017. The goal of the program is to encourage private-sector investment in low-income rural and urban areas through federal tax incentives. The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs, working with Governor Kay Ivey, recently identified 158 Opportunity Zones in the state, with at least one in each of the state's 67 counties. The Alabama Center for Real Estate created the following reports as a resource for industry stakeholders. The following information is found within each county's Opportunity Zone report: list of Opportunity Zones with corresponding census tract numbers, a map displaying it's relative location, total population with percentage change, total housing units with percentage change, median age, and a link for more data. 


Opportunity Zone Resources

Opportunity Zones by County

Autauga County

Baldwin County

Barbour County

Bibb County

Blount County

Bullock County

Butler County

Calhoun County

Chambers County

Cherokee County

Chilton County

Choctaw County

Clarke County

Clay County

Cleburne County

Coffee County

Colbert County

Conecuh County

Coosa County

Covington County

Crenshaw County

Cullman County

Dale County

Dallas County

DeKalb County

Elmore County

Escambia County

Etowah County

Fayette County

Franklin County

Geneva County

Greene County

Hale County

Henry County

Houston County

Jackson County

Jefferson County

Lamar County

Lauderdale County

Lawrence County

Lee County

Limestone County

Lowndes County

Macon County

Madison County

Marengo County

Marion County

Marshall County

Mobile County

Monroe County

Montgomery County

Morgan County

Perry County

Pickens County

Pike County

Randolph County

Russell County

Shelby County

St. Clair County

Sumter County

Talladega County

Tallapoosa County

Tuscaloosa County

Walker County

Washington County

Wilcox County

Winston County